L’Automne

 

Indian Summer bathes

Bordelais bounty ablaze

Ground luxuriantly carpeted

In autumnal opulence

Deciduous canopies gold-leafed

Foliage regally russet-robed

Plush claret drapes

Fringed with bronze tassels

Hints of crisp citrus

Sumptuous sun-glittered spectrum

Treetop treasure trove

 

Riverside bedecked with

Trinkets of tenderness

Shimmering mirror waters

Reflected architectural grandeur

Twilight streets bejewelled

Citrine and aquamarine glow

Under star-spangled velvet blackness

Moonlight-marbled pathways

Ornate obelisks, flamboyant fountains

Midnight magnificence.

 

City of full-bodied French finesse,

Intoxicating complex character,

Enticing lingering finish,

Left me thirsty for more.

 

Emma H, age 26, 26/04/2017


I visited Bordeaux for a long November weekend during my Year Abroad. For mid-November it was uncharacteristically warm and sunny, and the city looked fabulous in a blaze of autumnal sunlit colours. I fell a little bit in love and wish I could have spent more time there! All of the photos above are my own.

This poem is the fifth in my travel series depicting places where I have lived or that I have┬ávisited in recent years – search for “Travel Poetry” in my blog┬ámenu for more!

One thought on “L’Automne

Leave a Reply

