Objectified

You may eat me with your hungry eyes,

Devouring my flesh from afar,

Through fast visual consumption,

You see a toy, object, avatar.

 

I’m subjected to your objectifying gaze,

But my body is my possession.

Those who are entitled to touch

Have my express permission.

 

I will dress and act as I damn well please,

Your beliefs will not control me,

And your false sense of entitlement

Will leave you bereft and lonely.

 

Emma H,  age 26, 08/03/2017

One thought on “Objectified

Leave a Reply

