Good Girl Gone Bad

“You’re a good person,” he said,

And my heart glowed,

But my head protested.

Dank, festering secrets lingered there,

Tarnishing my halo.

I was good once.

But poison sours innocence,

Corrupts the soul,

Hardens defences,

And leaves a bitter taste.

I became a reflection of my story, unrecognisable.

I became cynical.

I became bad.

And yet guilt etched in lines on his face,

Because I was still the same angel

He had never poisoned.

Emma H, age 25, 15/06/2016

 

One thought on “Good Girl Gone Bad

Leave a Reply

