Hideout

via Daily Prompt: Hideout

 

These walls are invisible,

A hideout of the mind,

Construction of a shelter,

A space to just unwind,

Music is the mortar,

The bricks are undefined,

Here I find my peace, where

The noise is left behind,

I can escape the babble

And the din of humankind,

Swaddled and protected

By this bubble I designed.

But when it sadly bursts

And I’m back to daily grind,

The mundane suffocating,

And the world harsh and unkind,

I’ll long to be back there,

Cosy and confined,

Snugly warm and peaceful,

In my hideout of the mind.

Emma H, age 26, 21/02/2017

Leave a Reply

